top of page
  • Writer's pictureMary Grâce

2gether: The Series and its most anticipated finale




This is Bright:

and this is Win:


Together, they star in 2gether: The Series as Sarawat and Tine, respectively. This Thai boys' love (BL) series, directed by Weerachit Thongjila and produced by GMMTV, has wormed its way through the hearts of Asian and non-Asian viewers around the world.


Personally, I don't have prior experience viewing Thai BL series, or any Thai series for that matter. But 2gether: The Series has somehow sneaked into my YouTube (YT) recommendations and immediately captured my attention. Yes, each episode of this show has been uploaded on YT. Convenient, no?

After watching the first episode, I immediately turned to my friends. I suggested that they should also watch the series, only to find out that they've been watching it too. Then we started talking about Tine and Sarawat. When I said talk, I meant we objectified the heck out of these actors, especially Sarawat.


So, I continued to watch and talked about it with my friends even more. I also got semi-active on Facebook, as I was low-key campaigning for more viewership for the show. It wasn't necessary, though, because people were already in love with it. Yet, my stupid fangirl heart still wanted to do so. Nothing embarrassing, but I'm one of those fans who screenshot scenes and share too many series GIFs on the internet. Because, why not?


I got so hooked with the love story of these two college boys who get themselves into a fake relationship and later become a real couple. Shallow? Maybe, but I call it light and simple. Perhaps, that's all we need, a lighter approach in life, similar to how characters from the series go through their college life by just flirting and being playful. Or how they sometimes deal with a few academic and personal troubles. No matter how ambiguous their struggles are, I still find this series very endearing. Just a feel-good show, I suppose.

I love how this series shows the importance of a solid friendship. Tine always has his friends' back. Sarawat has his own set of friends as well, to whom he confides whenever something's up or down with him. There are also a few other cliques visible in the show. They manage to convey different kinds of bonds and camaraderie, even that one troop steeped in bad influences.


I also love the musically-inclined elements of the show. Sarawat and Tine are members of their college's music club. Posters of The Beatles, Kiss, Kurt Cobain, ACDC, and Scrubb are often seen in various scenes of this series. Sarawat sings in the show, and he sings well. Oh, how sweet every time Sarawat sings for Tine! I love how music plays a significant part in making the series more effortlessly watchable. I feel like I'm ten years younger while watching this series because of the vibe and its music.


Sarawat plays the guitar and sings for Tine.

I could give more reasons why this series works, but I need to be truthful to myself. I think the main reason this series got so much attention and support is because of its main characters. Physically they are easy on the eyes. Bright is hot, and Win is cute. Undeniably, they have crazy dynamics and chemistry that will make you squeal in your seat as you watch.


It's one of those shows where you don't want to ship yourself with one of the main characters because you want them to end up together. All so your hardcore fangirl soul could die in peace. I'm kidding. We can't die just yet, okay? Because the series is ending today, and I couldn't be more excited.

I hope they get married and pregnant in the finale if that's even possible. Rumor has it that season 2 is underway since the show could not fully cover the novel it's based on in a single season. So, hang in there 'til we see these two get together again in season 2 or in a new show. There's a high possibility that it will happen, but I'm still keeping my fingers crossed.


This is just the tip of the ice from my boba tea, and more articles about 2gether: The Series are coming. Stay tuned!

59 views0 comments

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page