top of page
  • Writer's pictureJane Though

The top 5 K-Pop songs according to my niece

Updated: Jun 11, 2020




People will probably hate me for this, but I’ve never been into K-Pop. I will like certain groups or songs, but never enough to be a stan or to pay attention to the industry or the genre. I’ve heard about how hard it is to train to become a K-Pop idol or how they’re being exploited by their agencies. Sometimes I will see BTS on an American late-night show or Amber Liu on Buzzfeed. But that’s about it. I can’t tell you who’s who.



For that, I blame my music taste being stuck in the 2000s. Much as I love pop (you can pry my Carly Rae Jepsen album from my cold, dead hands), my first love will still be rock music. Punk, alternative, indie…you name it, and I can probably give you a band recommendation. I’m even listening to Muse as I write this article. Absolution > Black Holes and Revelations, fight me. Nothing gets me going more than a stunning guitar solo.



However, I also have a five-year-old niece that I babysit when I’m not working. And this little ball of cuteness is a K-Pop stan. Kids love catchy things, right? K-Pop is no exception. Slowly but surely, she introduced me to the wonderful world of K-Pop. Here are some of the bops that we belt out together, listed for your listening pleasure:


1. Idol by BTS


If you ask my niece, her ultimate, most favorite artist is Taylor Swift. I’ve never seen anyone press repeat on You Belong With Me or shout I Knew You Were Trouble with more vigor than my niece. But her second most favorite is BTS. That’s right, she’s an ARMY. And her most favorite BTS bop is Idol. And for a good reason. This two-year-old song is not only catchy but full of energy and with a good message about loving yourself. If you need a hype-man in the form of a song, consider this one. It’s also not as intimidating as songs like Fire, Dope, or MIC-drop.


Runner-up Bops: Boy With Luv, ON, Black Swan



2. Boombayah by BLACKPINK

BLACKPINK has definitely been in our area since my niece got addicted to Kill This Love. But at the end of the day, we keep coming back to Boombayah, which was BLACKPINK’S first ever single. It’s just oozing with attitude and charisma. If like me, you miss the heyday of 2NE1, then BLACKPINK will fill that void. My niece, the ultimate BLINK, also aspires to be as fashionable as Lisa and Jennie.


Runner-up Bops: As If It’s Your Last, Whistle


3. Butterfly by LOONA


LOONA will probably be the least popular and most underrated group in this list, but my niece and I can’t wait for them to blow up. We’re on the #stanloona hype train, not only because of their great songs, but also their aesthetic music videos. Just look at Butterfly, which has a gorgeous, pastel color palette and great storytelling to boot. Basically, if you’re looking for an artsy K-Pop group with more subtle visuals (if you know what I mean), then LOONA is a safe bet. Plus, it goes without saying, but Butterfly has a great message.


Runner-up Bops: So What, Hi High, Where You At


4. Love Shot by EXO


I don’t know. Maybe it’s the choreography or the swabe feel of Love Shot, but my niece and I can’t stop bopping to this two-year-old song. I feel like it’s the most mature song I will include in this list, but then again, EXO’s sound is very sensual. If you like a more traditional R&B sound, EXO may be a good fit.


Runner-up Bops: Tempo, Monster


5. _eight by IU feat. SUGA


I’ve been seeing many theories that its video references Kim Jong-hyun and Sulli (RIP), who were both close friends to IU. Regardless, _eight is a nostalgic, heartfelt song that will really hit you in the feels, especially if you watch its video. While my niece and I don’t exactly bop to _eight, we still love listening to it. The animated parts of its video are a great hook for kids, while for the adults, it’s an excellent song for rainy days or when you’re missing your childhood. Like Loona, IU also has a great aesthetic that’s not over the top.


Runner-up Bops: _ BBIBBI, _Palette (feat. G-DRAGON), _Blueming



You know what I realized? K-Pop is a music genre worth exploring, with so many talented groups and soloists exploring different styles and aesthetics. Plus, they really make for good hype songs when you want to exercise or motivate yourself to do something. Or when you just need some self-love going on.


Are you bopping to K-Pop yet? Let us know in the comments which K-Pop acts we’ve been sleeping on, and we’ll give them a listen!

40 views0 comments

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page