top of page
  • Writer's picturePeiWasHere

Why I prefer to be single




Why am I single?


Is it because I don't look that good?


Is it because I don't show some signs that I'm open to flirting?


Is it because I'm not confident in front of guys?


Is it because I'm boring?

Since being in a relationship is a trend in my generation, I would regularly ask myself these questions. And often, they are left unanswered.


I often get jealous of couples who are happy together. They could kiss, hug, and be with each other. Of course, these are just the physical stuff. I am most jealous of them being able to open up to each other.


Before, I would often think that it's unfair.


I have never received flowers and chocolates on Valentine's Day. I have never experienced celebrating a weeksary, monthsary, or anniversary. I haven't even been on a date, and it's so annoying!


But, later on, I started to realize a lot of things. Entering a relationship is not as easy as 1-2-3 or ABCs. I realized that:


1. You have to think it through.


Is it worth it? Will I be happy? But you can only answer these questions if you give love a chance.


2. You have to think of a relationship as a battle.


Both of you need to fight TOGETHER. Both of you need to put the same effort, love, and other ingredients into a successful relationship.


3. You have to be responsible, not just for your self but for your partner.


Because what you do will affect the people around you.


4. You have to be emotionally, mentally, and physically stable to be able to face unknown circumstances.


This helps you to be ready to forgive and learn unforgettable lessons.


5. You have to be open to changes and be ready to adjust.


If you let your partner make all the adjustments, you're just throwing your relationship in the trash.


6. You have to ready your budget.


Regardless of your gender, you have to be financially stable to afford dates and other activities with your significant other. It's the 21st century, and both parties are allowed to pay for the food or treat their partners.


7. You have to be ready to take calculated risks.


Make sure that it's worth it. What's the use of risking everything when you'll break up in the end?


Many more things came to mind as I checked myself to know if I am ready for that kind of commitment.


I knew I wasn't ready. If I entered a half-cooked relationship without considering the other aspects, I would end up hurting myself and regretting my decision.


This is why I prefer to be single. I prefer to make myself ready for "the one." Because having a relationship is one of the steps to know who will stay with you until your last breath.


I am beautiful, I know how to flirt and have fun with guys, but I want to be more cautious when deciding who can enter and stay in my world. As a soldier of love, I want to be battle-ready. And because I am praying for it, I know that God will answer, and all this waiting will be worth it.

15 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page