top of page
  • Writer's picturePeiWasHere

April Fool's Day is cancelled and the kids are alright




April 1 is the day most of us are waiting for, when we’ll prank our loved ones without explaining why and get away with it just because it’s April Fool’s. But because of the COVID-19 pandemic, fear of getting infected with this dreadful virus has led to physical distancing, which is implemented worldwide. Social gatherings such as birthdays, graduations, and the likes are canceled. April Fool’s is but another casualty.

Most of us who are kids at heart, those of us who enjoy pranks and jokes and are looking forward to this day, are distressed with the news. Those of us who have already planned their pranks are especially sad. It’s going to be lonely for me, because I won’t be able to go out and joke around with my friends in person. It feels like I’m stripped of the opportunity to pull off an amusing prank, to see their actual reactions and funny facial expressions, but I can’t really complain about it. Our and our loved ones’ health will be at risk if we mindlessly go out and selfishly enjoy the whole day outside just to celebrate April Fool’s Day or other occasions.

We are sacrificing a lot due to this pandemic. It’s taking away our chance to create meaningful memories. It’s keeping us from creating meaningful connections with other people. We are enslaved by this pandemic, and all we can do is stay inside our homes.

But despite these inconsolable happenings, I can still enjoy a day full of pranks and amusement through social media. I can prank my friends through chat, Facebook, Instagram, or other platforms. Though it’s far more fractured than real-life interactions, we can still make the most of it. Plus, we have more time to prepare for next year’s epic pranks.

While I’m preparing for the best prank of the year, I am reminiscing on the best pranks that I’ve pulled off from the past years. One of them is when I pranked my best friend that I won’t graduate junior high with her. She got nervous and worried for me, and I felt how much she loved me through her worry. But her reaction and facial expression were hilarious!

How about you? What’s the best prank you’ve pulled off so far?

32 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page