top of page
  • Writer's pictureGeorge

How I found meaning in my provincial life




In these modern times, we often consider living in a city. A city where our necessities and amenities such as schools, malls, and other establishments are easily accessible. Personally, living in a city is my ideal life because of the convenience that it could bring me. The thought that I could visit popular places whenever I want to breathe and escape the suffocation of daily life is what aids me. Places like amusement parks, museums, libraries, and art galleries are such delightful sights to see. As a provincial lad, I have always wanted an environment where I can be as free as the air. It's the reason I decided to study in Manila. Getting an education in Manila meant that I could stay there for three years, more or less. That is to say, achievement unlocked! It was liberating at first. However, such freedom could not conceal my true nature. The city suffocated me so much, and I began to long for my province, to be with my family. I often visited bookstores because it was the only place where I could breathe freely. Still, I did not get the satisfaction I was looking for. That's why I decided to finally heed my family's wishes for me to go back to where I came from—my provincial life. Going back to a provincial life is the price I had to pay to find myself again. It felt awkward at first because of how much I have changed in those three years living in the city. I know, surely, that it's me who has changed, not the people and place I came back to. However, these changes in me are nothing compared to the essence of finding myself. The mornings are unsilenced by the crows of roosters and would wake me up feeling new. The sunrise is in harmony with the breezing air. Trees dance side to side and urge me to open my arms with closed eyes. The afternoons are filled with sunsets that team up with the rejuvenating air, allowing me to reflect on my life, to let my thoughts wander. The nights are tranquil, allowing me to see how clear the sky is. A sky filled with stars and the moon. It's as if the sky is only a fingertip away. Everyday life in the province always has something new to offer. It's as new as everything in me. Priceless events are hand in hand. This kind of life made me recognize that all I need to do is permit myself to go with the flow and acknowledge the freedom in me.

17 views3 comments

3 Comments


PeiWasHere
PeiWasHere
May 06, 2020

Yep! Since I'm a "probinsyana" i can totally relate. Hahaha 💛

Like

George
George
May 06, 2020

Wow! We all know how peaceful it is to live a provincial life.💗

Like

PeiWasHere
PeiWasHere
May 06, 2020

This makes me cherish my provincial life more.

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page