top of page
  • Writer's picturecappergirl

It's okay to collect more books...




Some people collect shoes or sneakers and self-identify as sneakerheads. You can find them lining up at every Nike store whenever there’s a new release, especially if it’s a pair of limited-edition basketball shoes. Each pair cost thousands of pesos.

Some people collect toys and action figures. They either scour every toy shop in the city or pre-order online. Just like sneakerheads, they spend thousands on these toys and action figures.

Then there are those who collect books. They’re called bibliophiles. I am one of those people. My love for books started more than 10 years ago. By then, I was late to the game. I started with young adult books and then branched out to classics and every other genre.

Sadly, my parents don’t understand my love for collecting physical books. They always say that it takes up space, and e-books are readily available. But I’m here to tell you that it’s okay to collect books.

For bibliophiles, having an actual book that you can hold and see on your shelf or in any part of your house is a different feeling that can’t be matched by reading digitally. Owning and collecting these books give us a certain satisfaction. You can’t measure this feeling or begin to describe the love you have for your own library.

Just one row of my shelf. The rest of my books are at my fiance's place.

Reading books is also a way for us to relax our minds. For some of us, it’s a learning experience. Either way, there’s a practical benefit to owning books aside from the happiness that seeing and reading them brings.

It’s not cheap to buy books, especially hardcover and special editions. But it doesn’t mean that you should stop collecting them. You can always save up for them. You can also buy used books online or at secondhand bookstores if you aren’t particular with their condition. There are yearly book fairs such as the Manila International Book Fair or Big Bad Wolf, the latter being my favorite. No joke, you can score books for as low as Php160 at these book fairs.

I got about 60 books from Big Bad Wolf 2020. Worth it!

Right now, I have more than 130 books and still counting. I take care of each book and I am careful not to crease them while reading. I feel a sense of achievement whenever I can buy and finish reading a book. Maybe by next year, I’ll have my own mini library.


I will say it again, it's okay to collect more books. Don’t let others deter you from your love of books. If it brings you happiness, just go for it. If you must let go of some of your books, it’s okay too. Maybe the next person will get the same feeling of joy that you have when you read that book.

12 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page